120 Boulevard Desjardins E, Sainte-Thérèse, QC, J7E 1C8
Mon - Fri 9:00am - 9:00pm
Sat 10:00am - 04:00pm
Sun closed
Mon - Thu 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri 8:00am - 2:30pm
Sat - Sun closed
Mon - Thu 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri 8:00am - 2:30pm
Sat - Sun closed

Hybrid Toyota Corolla Hot Hatch Under Consideration

Hybrid Toyota Corolla Hot Hatch Under Consideration


Toyota's GRMN performance division is only a few years old, but the team there is busy developing upcoming vehicles like a hotter version of the Supra and GR Super Sport. Now, a rumor suggests the group might develop a hot hatch out of the Corolla Hatchback. It would give the brand a step forward from the limited-edition Yaris GRMN.


"So as we go along with our product range we will look at every one of the products and say ok what is possible? Does this model suit the GR brand? Can we make some excitement with it," President and CEO of Toyota Europe Johan van Zyl told Auto Express. "I think that's what we are trying to say with the fact we have launched the 2.0-liter hybrid in the Corolla range. We are saying it is possible. We can make a more exciting, sporty hybrid. The technology is there. It's just the way you tune it."


Speculation out of Japan also suggested a Corolla hot hatch would use a 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder with around 250 horsepower (186 kilowatts).


Even if the Corolla hot hatch doesn't materialize, other performance-oriented Toyotas might be on the way. Masayuki Kai, the assistant chief engineer on the new Supra, said that his team would love to bring the Celica and MR2 back to the brand's lineup.

120 Boulevard Desjardins E, Sainte-Thérèse, QC, J7E 1C8
Lun - Ven 9:00 - 21:00
Sam - Dim Fermé
Lun - Jeu 8:00 - 17:00
Ven 8:00 - 14:30
Sam - Dim Fermé
Lun - Jeu 8:00 - 17:00
Ven 8:00 - 14:30
Sam - Dim Fermé

Toyota Corolla Hot Hatch hybride à l'étude

Toyota Corolla Hot Hatch hybride à l'étude


La division de la performance GRMN de Toyota n'a que quelques années, mais l'équipe y est très occupée à développer des véhicules à venir, comme une version plus chaude de la Supra et du GR Super Sport. Maintenant, une rumeur suggère que le groupe pourrait développer une trappe chaude en Corolla Hatchback. Cela donnerait à la marque un pas en avant par rapport à l'édition limitée de la Yaris GRMN.


"Alors, à mesure que nous avançons dans notre gamme de produits, nous examinerons chacun de ces produits et nous dirons ce qui est possible. Ce modèle convient-il à la marque GR? Pouvons-nous en faire un peu plus excitant?" van Zyl a dit à Auto Express. "Je pense que c'est ce que nous essayons de dire avec le fait que nous avons lancé l'hybride 2,0 litres de la gamme Corolla. Nous disons que c'est possible. Nous pouvons créer un hybride plus excitant et sportif. La technologie est là. la façon dont vous l'accordez. "


Les spéculations sur le Japon suggèrent également qu'une trappe chaude Corolla utiliserait un quatre cylindres turbocompressé de 2,0 litres développant environ 250 chevaux (186 kW).


Même si le Corolla Hot Hatch ne se matérialise pas, d'autres Toyota axées sur la performance pourraient être sur le chemin. Masayuki Kai, ingénieur en chef adjoint de la nouvelle Supra, a déclaré que son équipe adorerait ramener la Celica et la MR2 à la gamme de la marque.