120 Boulevard Desjardins E, Sainte-Thérèse, QC, J7E 1C8
Dealership hours of operation
Mon - Fri 9:00am - 7:00pm
Sat 10:00am - 8:00pm
Sun closed
Dealership hours of operation
Mon - Thu 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri 8:00am - 2:30pm
Sat - Sun closed
Dealership hours of operation
Mon - Thu 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri 8:00am - 2:30pm
Sat - Sun closed

Hydrogen is gaining ground in Quebec


Hydrogen is gaining ground in Quebec: Automakers present an update on the development of Quebec's refuelling infrastructure for hydrogen electric vehicles

Montreal, Quebec, January 22, 2019 - The deployment of hydrogen is gaining ground in Quebec.

Toyota Canada Inc. (TCI) and Honda Canada Inc. and hydrogen sector partners presented an update on the progress of hydrogen fuelling infrastructure for fuel cell electric vehicles at the Montreal International Auto Show.

Quebec's first hydrogen refuelling station soon to be operational

Construction of the first multi-fuel station in Quebec is progressing well. In partnership with Harnois Énergies and Hydrogenics, this station located in Quebec City will be built with the financial support of the Government of Quebec, through Transition énergétique Québec (TEQ), as well as Natural Resources Canada and Toyota.

Toyota has also provided an additional hydrogen refuelling station to ensure uninterrupted service to its Quebec customers.

"For us, what is particularly interesting is the fact that this service station will use, at the site itself, an electrolyser that will transform hydroelectricity into clean and renewable hydrogen for these vehicles," said Martin Gilbert, Director Manager, Corporate Strategy and Innovation at Toyota Canada Inc. As a world leader in hydroelectric power generation, and with these new technologies in place, Québec has everything it needs to become a key player in hydrogen production. »

Refuelling at the new Québec City station will begin in February and it is already planned that another station will be built in Montréal.

Honda Canada has also recently joined the hydrogen movement in Quebec. The manufacturer will provide financial support for the Montreal station, allowing it to offer this cutting-edge technology to more Quebecers, while facilitating the movement of hydrogen-powered vehicles between Montreal and Quebec City.

Mirai's fleet now on Quebec soil

Last year, at the Montreal International Auto Show, Toyota made a commitment to deliver 50 hydrogen electric vehicles to its first Canadian customer, the Government of Quebec.

With the first Toyota Mirai fleet to operate on Quebec's roads, Toyota becomes the first automaker to substantially deploy hydrogen fuel cell vehicles in Canada.

"We were inspired by the leadership of Quebec consumers in the rapid adoption of new clean and innovative technologies such as hybrid electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids," added Mr. Gilbert. For us, it is obvious that Quebeckers really care about the environment and climate change. And above all, that they are ready to take concrete action to make a difference. »

Additional support put in place to receive hydrogen vehicles

Toyota Canada has been very active in promoting, investing and creating partnerships to prepare the Quebec market for hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles. The company has worked closely with the Government of Quebec and other partners to set up the charging infrastructure, training and service support needed for the arrival of these hydrogen electric cars.

Toyota has invested in training first responders on how these hydrogen vehicles work and best practices for handling them safely. The company also trained technicians from local dealerships and improved the service offer at the Brossard regional office to provide complete support for hydrogen electric vehicles in Quebec.

"Today, with the right partners, the right investments, the right vehicles, the right charging infrastructure and the right training, we can say that the hydrogen movement in Quebec is clearly underway," said Mr. Gilbert. Quebec motorists have access to another viable choice of clean vehicle. We can now say that hydrogen vehicles have arrived! »

The Toyota Mirai has a range of 500 km, recharges in five minutes and has proven its worth in a cold climate. In addition, it does not emit any carbon emissions.

120 Boulevard Desjardins E, Sainte-Thérèse, QC, J7E 1C8
Lun - Ven 9:00 - 21:00
Sam - Dim Fermé
Lun - Jeu 8:00 - 17:00
Ven 8:00 - 14:30
Sam - Dim Fermé
Lun - Jeu 8:00 - 17:00
Ven 8:00 - 14:30
Sam - Dim Fermé

L’hydrogène gagne du terrain au Québec

L'hydrogène gagne du terrain au Québec : Les constructeurs automobiles présentent une mise à jour du développement des infrastructures de ravitaillement québécoises pour les véhicules électriques à l'hydrogène

Montréal, Québec, le 22 janvier 2019 - Le déploiement de l'hydrogène gagne du terrain au Québec.

Toyota Canada inc. (TCI) et Honda Canada inc., ainsi que des partenaires du secteur de l'hydrogène, ont présenté une mise à jour de la progression des infrastructures de ravitaillement d'hydrogène pour les véhicules électriques à piles à combustible, à l'occasion du Salon international de l'auto de Montréal.

La première station de ravitaillement d'hydrogène du Québec bientôt en fonction

La construction de la première station québécoise multicarburant avance rondement. En partenariat avec Harnois Énergies et Hydrogenics, cette station située à Québec verra le jour grâce à l'appui financier du Gouvernement du Québec, par le biais de Transition énergétique Québec (TEQ), ainsi que de Ressources naturelles Canada et de Toyota.

Toyota a également fourni une station additionnelle de ravitaillement en hydrogène afin d'assurer un service sans interruption à ses clients québécois.

« Pour nous, ce qui est particulièrement intéressant est le fait que cette station-service utilisera, au site même, un électrolyseur qui transformera l'hydroélectricité en hydrogène propre et renouvelable pour ces véhicules, a déclaré Martin Gilbert, directeur gestionnaire, Stratégie d'entreprise et Innovation chez Toyota Canada inc. À titre de chef de file mondial de production d'hydroélectricité, et avec ces nouvelles technologies mises en place, le Québec a tout pour devenir également un joueur incontournable en production d'hydrogène. »

Les ravitaillements à la nouvelle station de Québec débuteront en février et il est déjà prévu qu'une autre station soit construite à Montréal.

Par ailleurs, Honda Canada a récemment rejoint le mouvement de l'hydrogène au Québec. Le constructeur fournira un soutien financier pour la station montréalaise, permettant d'offrir cette technologie d'avant-garde à davantage de Québécois, tout en facilitant les déplacements de véhicules à l'hydrogène entre Montréal et Québec.

La flotte de Mirai maintenant en sol québécois

L'an dernier, au Salon international de l'auto de Montréal, Toyota s'était engagée à livrer 50 véhicules électriques à l'hydrogène à son premier client canadien, le Gouvernement du Québec.

Avec la première flotte de Toyota Mirai à rouler sur les routes du Québec, Toyota devient le premier constructeur automobile à déployer de façon substantielle au Canada des véhicules à piles à combustible à l'hydrogène.

« Nous avons été inspirés par le leadership des consommateurs québécois dans l'adoption rapide des nouvelles technologies propres et innovantes tels que les véhicules hybrides électriques et les hybrides branchables, a ajouté M. Gilbert. Pour nous, il est évident que les Québécois se soucient véritablement de l'environnement et des changements climatiques. Et surtout, qu'ils sont prêts à poser des gestes concrets pour faire une différence. »

Soutien additionnel mis en place pour recevoir les véhicules à hydrogène

Toyota Canada a été très actif dans la promotion, l'investissement et la création de partenariats pour préparer le marché québécois des véhicules électriques à pile à combustible à hydrogène. La compagnie a collaboré étroitement avec le Gouvernement du Québec et d'autres partenaires, pour mettre en place l'infrastructure de recharge, ainsi que la formation et le soutien aux services nécessaires à l'arrivée de ces voitures électriques à hydrogène.

Toyota a investi dans la formation des premiers répondants à propos du fonctionnement de ces véhicules à hydrogène et des meilleures pratiques pour les manipuler de manière sécuritaire. La compagnie a également formé les techniciens des concessionnaires locaux et bonifié l'offre de service au bureau régional de Brossard afin d'offrir le soutien complet pour les véhicules électriques à hydrogène au Québec.

« Aujourd'hui, avec les bons partenaires, les bons investissements, les bons véhicules, l'infrastructure de recharge appropriée et la formation adaptée, on peut dire que le mouvement de l'hydrogène au Québec est clairement lancé, a souligné M. Gilbert. Les automobilistes du Québec ont donc accès à un autre choix viable de véhicule propre. On peut maintenant affirmer que les véhicules à hydrogène sont bel et bien arrivés! »

La Toyota Mirai a une autonomie de 500 km, se recharge en cinq minutes et a fait ses preuves dans un climat froid. De plus, elle n'émet aucune émission de carbone.